St Giles in the Field

Category: Panoramas

Used in the following map:

London Panoramas Google Map

Click to view panorama

The history of the site of St Giles in the Field dates back to 1101 with the foundation of a leper hospital. The chapel of the hospital remained when the leper treatment closed in 1547, it is at this time that the site became known as St Giles in the Fields.

The current church on the site dates back to 1730, designed by the architect Henry Flitcroft. Differing in style to Wren's work in the City of London the church was completed in 1734 and provides a unique contrast to the Centre Point building across the way.