Search CommunityWalk:
Create_a_map_small
Explore_small
Tutorials_small
Mymaps_small

City of Willoughby Hills

(view on the map)
Community Center
35400 Chardon Road
Willoughby Hills, Ohio 44094
440-918-8730
The Willoughby Hills Community Center houses several meeting rooms that are available for rental and a branch of the Willoughby-Eastlake Public library. The building is situated adjacent to the Roemisch Fields municipal park.
(view on the map)
Willoughby Hills City Hall
35405 Chardon Road
Willoughby Hills, Ohio 44094
440-946-1234
The Willoughby Hills City Hall is located in front of Campbell Park on Chardon Road.
(view on the map)
Willoughby Hills Fire Departement
(view on the map)
Historic Pleasant Valley Road Bridge
This bridge is an example of the Wrought Iron Bridge Company earlier design for a large span Whipple truss. It has been rehabilitated for continued vehicular use at the expense of historic integrity and alteration. Floorbeams, pins, and other elements are not original. Many rivets were replaced with high strength bolts. An interesting feature of the rehabilitation was that it was galvanized instead of painted. The silver/grey color created by galvanization is not offensive, and indeed its lighter color helps bring the truss bridge details out. The bridge is rare as an example of a Whipple truss, and also the last remaining highway truss in Lake County, Ohio.
(view on the map)
scenic Chagrin River Park
The Chagrin River snakes under U.S. Route 6 and the historic Pleasant Valley Road Bridge.
(view on the map)
Picturesque Squires Castle
Squire's Castle, located in Willoughby Hills in the Cleveland Metroparks, was built in the 1890s by Feargus B. Squire, an executive with the Standard Oil Company. The British-born Squire intended to create a country estate, modeled after those in Britain. He began by building the gatehouse, complete with a living room, several bedrooms, and a hunt room with mounted animal heads. The Squires used the gatehouse as a weekend retreat while plans were being finalized for the main house.

Mrs. Squire never liked the country. A city girl, she was scared of the quiet country nights and the sounds of animals. Urban legend says that she had so many nightmares that she was afraid to go to sleep and consequently went insane. According to the legend, she died one night when she became so frightened that she fell and broke her neck attempting to flee. The truth lies somewhere else. Mrs. Squire, although afraid of the country, did not die at the gatehouse, although she did die young, in 1929.

Feargus Squire never completed the estate after his wife's death, and the gatehouse was abandoned. Today, the structure is but a stone shell, owned by the Cleveland Metroparks. Periodic functions are held at the "castle." Park visitors can walk around the structure and imagine it adorned with Tiffany glass, carved mouldings, and elaborate European furnishings.
(view on the map)
Campbell Park
Campbell Park is located directly behind the Willoughby Hills City Hall. It can be accessed from either Chardon Road (through the City Hall parking lot) or from Eddy Road, where there is a dedicated parking area.
(view on the map)
Roemisch Fields Park
Roemisch Fields park is locaated directly behind the Willoughby Hills Community Center and is accessed via the Community Center Driveway opposite the Fire Station.
(view on the map)
Cleveland Metroparks Chagrin Reservation
(view on the map)
Manakiki Golf Course (public)
35501 Eddy Road
Willoughby Hills, Ohio 44094
440-942-2500
Located 17 miles east of downtown Cleveland, Manakiki Golf Course is an elegant public course. The classic Donald Ross design offers a variety of challenges including doglegs, water hazards, up-and-down shots, back-to-back par 5s, short, long, tight, and open holes, and two canyon holes.